He sits and remembers how he used to guard the river...
When we were kids playing nearby we though these looked like guard towers, or even like the machines from H G Wells' classic, The War of the Worlds. In reality these unique cast iron lighthouses were erected in 1863 by Trinity House to guide ships around Landguard Point until 1917; the two lights aligned indicated the right course. The deep-water channel is now marked by buoys. The lighthouses were restored in the 1980s, The lighthouses are sometimes known as Dovercourt Range Lights.
April 12th, 2014
Viewed 1,055 Times - Last Visitor from New York, NY on 09/27/2023 at 4:41 PM